People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

A risky action can range from a situation that does not have much foreseeable negative consequences to one that has a high chance of having harmful consequences if taken. In order to evaluate the statement, it would be of paramount importance to consider the scenario in which this statement is being applied. While at first, it appears like risky actions should always carefully deliberated since it would be the rational way to decide upon the next move, one cannot repudiate the events where risky actions have changed the course of history and have resulted in better consequences than if one had not taken it.

In the period of world war II,weapons built on newly discovered power of nuclear energy were at large. For the purpose of winning the war, USA decided to use these weapons of mass destruction on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. While it ended the war, it could be categorized a pyrrhic victory at the cost of humanity because, even to this day, the cities that were bombed are facing deleterious effects of a risky decision that was taken decades ago. Had USA carefully considered the consequences of what the decision might lead to from a humanitarian angle, it probably would have not gone ahead with the bombing and thus would have averted these negative consequences. Perhaps careful evaluation and discussion from all perspectives might have led to a better solution with less negative impact.

While the risky actions taken without considering all foreseeable consequences can have a negative impact, it is not always the case. There are instances where risky actions can be a trump card that can be a propitious move for the decider. In the 20-20 cricket World Cup finals of 2011 the first in such format, the match was a close competition between teams that were in complete form. In the last over, Pakistan needed a meager amount of 11 runs to win it; it had built a wonderful innings and could have acheived this target but it had only one wicket left which made the match a fair one for both the teams. The Indian Captain decided to give this death over to Joginder Sharma who was not expected to bowl this important over was a risky action taken by the indian captain. But, the way he bowled the over and the field setting got India the championship. This risky action was later shown as a strategic move that won india the championship.

Risky actions should be taken after considering the consequences that it can lead to, but is not applicable in all situations as in some situations risky actions can get better results than ones decided after careful evaluation of pros and cons.