Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

there's an old saying: A man without dream is a bird without feathers. dreams are what drives individuals to strive for a better life while simultaneously contributing to a diverse society in contrast to picking up banal "worthy goals".

dreaming is something that has come naturally to human race;it's a portion of evolution- both biological and social that has shaped the civilization the way see it now. To go against something so fundamental and pursue " worthy goals" is to to urge humans to become automatons that work only for survival. would there be a Sistine Chapel with beautifully painted Adam if Micheal Angelo had pursued a career in the aristocratic footsteps instead of following his artistic heart? would there be a Fur Elise if beethoven had decided to become a worker who just worked to fit the apellation of pursuing the "worthy goals" instead of rendering beautiful emotions through his genius in the form of music?

Moreover, what is considered the so "covered" worthy goals? something that has a sure shot of making it big is probably what some might regard as a goal worth putting efforts to reach. that would be amazing if it succeeds, but there is one problem in such an endeavor which is- it just cannot happen. . Since some people do have a list of these worthy goals, imagine what would happen if each and everyone starts pursuing them.I would like to extend John Nash's theory of equilibrium here which states society would reach harmony if not everyone tried to get the same thing.

Let us give the incisive mind a rest and explore the domain of human emotions that are involved in passion that drives people to do what they do. At this point, I would like to narrate a motivating short episode in the life of a living legend in the football world- christiano Ronaldo. it was not an uncommon thing for young christiano to spend most of his time in the football field following his "dream". legend has it that one day his teacher met him and told him that football would not give him bread to eat in the future but studying would. what would be the chances of christiano becoming what he was if he just sat and studied? A paltry one I would say.I want to make my stand clear at this point that I am not against studying or pursuing any " worthy goals"; I am just advocating the notion that people should try to follow their dreams rather than giving into to the misconception that only worthy goals to lead a happy, successful life.

The "reason" states that following individual goals is selfish. I see this statement is trying to elicit a specious emotion in the reader's mind to agree to the authors words. The author is trying to use a platitude to fit his purpose.I don't see how being selfish is wrong in this context. if individuals try to strive for success in their chosen fields of interest and they do, isn't it good for the society as a hole. I visualize it as all the cells in the human body doing their jobs efficiently. Doesn't it result in the whole well-being of the society?

dreams are what drives humans and pushes individual, social and economic boundaries. while there is nothing wrong in pursuing worthy goals, it is definitely amoral to duress it on young individuals