Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Dreams are kind of goal which person wants to achieve. Some dreams are just quixotic and trying to achieving them is just wasting of time. So, I agree with claim that more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals but doesn't agree with reason.

Dreams are kind of a long term goal. Dream is not the thing which can be achieve overnight. More than just imagination to achieve them long term goals require lots of efforts and proper utilization of time to achieve them. The great fastest 100 meter runner Hussain Bolt has a dream of becoming fastest runner. To run in faster in race for just 10 minutes he has to practice around 10 years every day to achieve his dream. With his persistent efforts and dedication he is in a position where we can see that he has achieved his dream. So dream should be such that which will motivates us to achieve it.

Dreams should be realistic. Many people say that they want to be rich, want to be successful , want to marry a beautiful man/woman etc. They just dream about it and didn't not do anything to achieve it. Some of them plan to achieve it but, since to achieve it is long term process they just give up in the middle.There's one famous line saying that dreams are not which makes us sleeps, but dreams are the things which makes us to wake up to achieve them. So, dream should be realistic which would keep us motivated.

Sometimes, dreams are inherently selfish. One person's dreams will definitely different from the other. And they will have different reasons for having such a dream. Most of the students have dream to achieve good marks in the exam but only few students are able to achieve it. So, despites dreams may be selfish, it's there efforts which will drag them to their goals.

So, dream should be picked so that it will motivate us to achieve it.