Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

Mass media and the internet have become integral part of human life. With so much information flowing over the media and the internet it becomes impossible to focus on the one particular thing. Human focus keeps on changing.

When student uses cellphone in classroom, he thinks that he is multitasking and doing both the things i.e. learning and chatting over the cellphone. While it's not true, cellphone is just distraction, which keeps student away from focus on learning. Cellphone divided the student attention and he/she is not able to focus.

Multitasking is important since human has to perform different roles at the same time. But the human brain is not built that way. Human brain is only able to focus on one particular thing at a time. Since mass media and internet have caused the attention spans to get shorter, human is not able to perform the task which he focused on perfectly.

Sometimes its true that less attention span on one particular thing will enhanced the ability to sort the things, but this ability varies from every individual. This ability is depend on the grasping power of the individual. Some individual able to understand thing at one glance, while other requires more time and focus to understand the thing.

So, despite mass media and the internet have caused the attention spans to get shorter, it's totally depend on individual perception, how they respond to it. If person doesn't get bother with mass media and the internet then the mass media and the internet will not affect their attention spans.