61. People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Risks from any action can vary with the impact and the range of people affected. Thus, some risks can harm huge people strongly but others do not. Under these circumstances, people will consider differently depending on how serious the risks expected to be caused by action are and decide their actions. In other words, if the consequences are expected to have a big impact on many people, people need to think long before they do anything risky, but if the risk is to the extent that only a few people can afford and not so fatal, they can make an immediate decision without thinking much.

Firstly, people should consider the consequences of action carefully when the expected negative consequences of taking action are too fatal or affect many people. There could be some circumstances that the bad consequences of one’s actions are damaging and even taking lives away from many people. In these circumstances, people should weigh the results of their actions and carefully behave. For example, politicians such as congressmen, presidents, or prime ministers have to consider carefully when they decide whether it is better to do risky action or not. This is due to the fact that their decisions affect almost of the people of society because they are made in the form of policy. Thus, the negative effects of their acts could also spread out for society. For example, the politicians could be in a circumstance where they have to decide whether to join the war or not. Participating in war is a decision of great risk as a nation since their many resources and citizens can be sacrificed. Therefore, they should consider the issue prudently to minimize its negative effects from participating in the war.

However, whether the consequences of taking risks are good or bad, people do not have to think deeply if the impact is focused on only the person who has acted or a few people and the effect is expected to be minimal. There could be some circumstance which even if one decides to do something risky but the impact of that choice is not so significant. The effects of behavior may be small enough for only the person who did the action to be responsible, or it may not be crucial even if it affects others. For example, when I was an undergraduate student, I had to decide whether I should study all night before the exam day or just sleep and go to the exam even though I did not study enough. Going to the exam without studying all night was a risky decision for me since I could get a bad grade. It was risky enough for me, but I did not think much about it and decided to just go to sleep and take the exam because even if my grade was poor, it was my responsibility, and it was not going to do much harm to others.

To sum up, people consider differently about the consequences of risky actions according to the expected negative results’ influences. They need to consider carefully about risky action when its impacts are expected to affect many people very negatively. However, they do not need to think about it cautiously when the impacts are not much huge and are manageable.