#13. Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today a lot of universities try to make it mandatory for students to take subjects unrelated to their majors. For example, some universities offer all students a compulsory liberal arts course and others require students to take a computer programming class regardless of their majors. I agree that most students in universities should have chances to take various courses outside their field of study. Critics may argue that the universities should cultivate professional talent and nowadays society needs not well-rounded people but experts in each field. However, such arguments are alienated from reality. Students who have just entered universities do not know well what their aptitude is. Also, a lot of companies are demanding a “Renaissance man” for their employee.

First of all, if universities offer the students liberal arts or general curricula regardless of their majors, students who have just matriculated universities could find their aptitudes more easily. The pre-college education is only basic, making it difficult for students to experience various experiences through it, and therefore it is impossible for students who enter universities to be sure of their aptitude. Of course, it is needed to cultivate professional talent in special fields such as medical science, pharmacy, and engineering, because it is important for them to understand their field accurately and deeply. However, except for such unusual areas, much of students do not sure what they are interested in and what they are good at. Therefore, it is necessary to have students access to a wide range of fields for universities.

Secondly, modern society demands a versatile person. Therefore, universities needed to make their students be a multi-talented person. Many companies prefer employees who majored humanities but can do computer programming or who are multilingual engineers. These kinds of employees can solve multidimensional problems without help from others. Opponents contend that because much of social problem is getting worse, so it is not resolved that one person is versatile; it is necessary for experts in various fields to cooperate, therefore universities should concentrate on training experts. Environmental problem, for instance, can be managed by not only scientists but also engineers and political scientists. Nonetheless, the problems encountered in the everyday work environment can be dealt with easier by the multi-talented person than who is good at only one field.

To sum up, universities needed to make their students take various courses outside their majors. Offered liberal arts or general curricula, students in universities can find their aptitude easily, and they could be reborn as a proper person to be demanded by society.