169. The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the mayor of Brindleburg recommends that to generate additional tax revenue that Brindleburg can use to fund much-needed public improvements it is needed to build a golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg like the town of Seaside Vista. Although this recommendation may seem convincing at first, the lacks of answers lead me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

Firstly, the mayor claims that Brindleburg would get more tax revenue by building a municipal golf course and resort hotel as the town of Seaside Vista has done. The mayor assumes that there is only a little difference between Brindleburg and the town of Seaside Vista so that Brindleburg is able to get additional tax revenue once they build these facilities like the town of Seaside Vista. However, the mayor needs to answer the following question: Is Brindleburg similar to the town of Seaside Vista? If there is no difference between the two regions, the mayor’s claims may be plausible. However, if two districts are quite distinct from each other, the mayor’s argument might be discredited. For example, it is possible that the golf course and the resort hotel in the town of Seaside Vista have been popular due to their locations adjacent to the sea. In this case, if Brindleburg is located inland and it does not have any scenery people love, people may not visit the golf course and the resort hotel even though Brindleburg builds them newly. As a result, the additional tax revenue of Brindleburg would not be significant by building them.

Secondly, the mayor argues that Brindleburg should also build a new municipal golf course and resort hotel, and then they can collect much amount of tax money as the town of Seaside Vista did. In this argument, it is implied that the Seaside Vista has secured increased tax revenue from the golf club and the resort hotel. But is the increased tax revenue for the Seaside Vista coming from the new golf course and the resort hotel? Was there no other change in the Seaside Vista to increase tax revenue? For instance, it is plausible to suppose that the increased tax revenue was mostly from the new business recently opened in the Seaside Vista because the number of new business loan applications has increased significantly in the Seaside Vista lately. Consequently, even if Brindleburg builds a new golf course and resort hotel, there is no guarantee that tax revenue will increase.

Finally, the mayor expects that Brindleburg will be able to use to fund much-needed public improvements if the tax revenue is increased by building the new facilities, and this expectation is from the announcement of the town of Seaside Vista that they plan to use the tax revenue to improve their roads and bridges. The mayor presumes that the Seaside Vista’s plan would soon be implemented in practice. However, it should be asked whether the plan can be taken at face value or not. Will be possible to use tax revenue to improve their roads and bridges for the Seaside Vista? Unlike the Seaside Vista’s plan, wouldn’t there be other problems that tax revenue needs to be used? For example, unlike its tax revenue plan, the Seaside Vista may have to spend a lot of its tax revenues repairing its new golf course and resort hotel. This would be the same for Brindleburg. Although more tax revenue may be collected through the new golf course and resort hotel, much of it may have to be used again for them, and thus, both cities may not be able to use the revenue for their much-needed public improvements.

To sum up, the mayor’s recommendation is unsound on many grounds. In order to strengthen the recommendation, the mayor needs to provide more specific answers to the questions which are mentioned above.