The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the mayor of Brindleburg`s claim that they recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel for generating additional tax revenue rests on three assumptions. In order to evaluate the argument, we need to observe whether the assumptions are valid or not.

Firstly, mentioning that Brindleburg recommends building a similar golf course and resort hotel like Seaside Vista, he assumes that Brindlrburg also has positive results if it implements the same policy that the town of Seaside Vista implemented. In order to assess his assumption, we need to answer the following question: is it possible for Brindleburg to gain the same results if it implements the same policy? For example, if there have been already many golf courses and resorts in Brindleburg, it would have been hard for the new plan to success. If that, the author`s claim will be invalid. Otherwise, the author`s claim will be valid.

Secondly, he said that after the plan implements in the town of Seaside Vista, it has reported a 20% increase in visitors. It presumes that the plan may help to increase the rate of visitors. In order to evaluate his presumption, we need to answer the following question: is the cause of increasing the rate of visitors the construction of golf courses and resorts? If the town sales tickets, more visitors could tend to visit. If the critical factor that affects increasing the visitors may be not the plan but low price, the author`s claim will be unpersuasive. Otherwise, the author`s assertion will be convincing.

Lastly, he indicates that the number of new business loan applications are increased dramatically according to local bank reports this year. It assumes that the increase in loan applications may be caused by business growth. In order to appraise his assumption, we need to answer the following question: is the growth of new business loan applications good? If golf courses and resorts have had few customers, the loan applications would have increased. That is, it is hard to know whether the business grows through just the number of loan applications. If the cause of applying loan applications is the debt by business fail, the author`s claim will be unconvincing.

In conclusion, in order to assess the author`s argument, we need to ask several questions. If the answers to the questions are affirmative, the author`s recommendation will be valid. Otherwise, it will not be valid.