Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are many kinds of educational institutions from elementary school, middle school, high school, community college, university, to the lifelong education center. As there are a number of educational institutions, as there are a lot of purposes for them. For one, its educational purpose may be teaching students fundamental common knowledge, and for another, it may have an eye to pass on knowledge to posterity. And for some, they may make students get good jobs. However, I disagree that all educational institutions should put their students to the field of research which is related to lucrative jobs.

Some contend that specific educational institutions need to recommend actively for their students to join fields that will help them for job opportunities that will provide them a lot of money. For example, it is the purpose of educations in most of the lifelong education centers that teaching and giving training students to adapt to a new work environment. My mother also has been trained in the lifelong education center after retiring from her office job. And now, she has successfully been reemployed in the field of social welfare which is one of the promising and well-earned job fields in Korea. As my mother’s case, some educational institutions’ educational programs may focus on encouraging people to prepare for lucrative careers.

However, the experiences of specific institutions cannot be generalized to every educational institution. Actually, most types of schools have not vocational but other educational purposes. For instance, universities’ purpose is to pass on knowledge to posterity. That is why they maintain fields of study unrelated to making money such as aesthetics, philosophy, and history. In fact, rather than supporting practical studies that help students find employment, the university I graduated has forced all students to take humanities classes as a necessity. My experience proves that an educational institution called a university is more interested in transferring valuable academic assets than preparing students for a well-earned job.

Even more seriously, if educational institutions push their students to choose fields which will make them easier to get lucrative jobs by compulsion, it may cause bad results. At some time, the area of money is bound to be limited. If all educational institutions encourage students to engage in those fields, competition naturally can only intensify. This could rather create more students who are out of the competition. Therefore, educational institutions should rather allow students to gain experience in various fields so that they can choose their own careers that suit their own specialties.

Educational institutions have as many different educational goals as they are of different kinds. Therefore, it is not appropriate for educational institutions to concentrate on encouraging their students to engage in the fields of study which will help to find well-earned jobs.