Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

I totally disagree that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. For one thing, there is no study in any field can guarantee the so-called lucrative career in the future. For another thing, students who are encouraged to choose this field may not enjoy the study in this field. While some people may argue that institutions may earn a sum of donation from their potential successful alumni, this policy may lead to dissatisfaction among their graduates.

To begin with, no such fields of study can guarantee the so-called career in the future. To get a successful career requires a combination of a solid grasp of professional knowledge, a good interpersonal relationship and a personality of perseverance. For example, graduates who majoring in computer science can find a position where they may receive lucrative career in the future. But if they lack essential knowledge, do not know how to communicate with their colleagues and are not meticulous about their assignments, it is easy for them to fail to have a successful career.

Moreover, the field of study which students are encouraged to study may not the interest of the students. Their lack of interes of the field they are stuying in may weaken their motivation to study, rendering them not to work hard. Each piece of knowledge taught to them may be prosaic to them, let alone to understand it. In this case, it can be a problem for them to graduate from the school. If they manage to graduate and find a job in this field, it can be hard for them to obtain job satisfaction. In this way, getting well-paid or earning a lucrative career is of small possible.

Some people may claim that by encouraging students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative career, institutions may get a sum of donation from their potential successful alumni. Therefore, with the money, they can attract more renowned professor and introduce advance teaching facilities to improve their quality of education. In that case, they can more successful and great alumni. This cycle undoubtedly making institutions better and better. Nevertheless, schools overlook a point that this policy may lead to the students’ aversion about this field of study, and finally their aversion about this school. Even though they may be successful in the future, they may not be happy about donating money for the school.

In conclusion, while it is understandable for education institutions to encourage students to learn fields of study preparing them for the lucrative career, it is undesirable to do that because there is no guaranteed lucrative career and some students may not enjoy the field of study.