What is the most important action for the government to take for the protection of environmental

problems?

-fund researches on new energy sources such as solar and wind power;

-protect forests and natural wildlife species;

-pass and enforce laws to reduce the pollution.

With the quality of our life improved, more and more attention are paid to the issues of environment. Some researchers are trying to look for some new energy sources, while some are fighting for the protection of the forests and natural wildlife species. On my opinion, however, passing and enforcing laws aiming to reduce the pollution is the predominent action for government to take to keep a beautiful planet for us.

To begin with, funding researches on new energy sources like solar and wind power costs too much and may takes a long time. Doing researches requires advanced equipments and plenty of elites in these area. A sum of money is going to be paid for the acquisition and the compensation. Besides, risks should also be taken into consideration when doing scientific researches. Actually it will take a long time and sometimes come to nothing. For example, Nanjing government invested 500 million in a green program by Nanjing University in 2007. Unfortunately nothing achieved after ten years' effort. In this way, protecting environment by fund researches on new energy sources is not profitable way.

What's more, solving the pollution is the prerequisite of the preservation of the forests and natural wildlife species. To illustrate, fish and other marine life are very vulnerable to pollution, waste runoff, and other serious problems that threaten their habitat. What people dump every day like paint, medications and other chemicals into a drain or outside can actually get into runoff that goes directly into rivers and streams. These chemicals are hazardous to marine animals and plants. Also trash left on the beach can also be dangerous. Turtles see plastic as their prey and it can cause them to suffocate or choke. So when the pollution is controlled by the law, the forest and wild animals can be protected.

Last but not least, people's awareness of protecting our environment can be reinforced by passing and enforcing the laws to reduce the pollution. Laws force people to comply with the regulations included. If there is not an law concerning pulltion, many conscienceless factories continue to dump the waste and chemistry casually, leaking toxic fumes into the air, cutting down trees in the forests without limitations, etc since they only cares about their benefits. Finally our planet will get worse and worse.

In conclusion, what government ought to do in the first place is to pass and enforce the law to reduce the pollution - an rudimentary issue in dealing with the protection of the environment.