What is the most important action for the government to take for the protection of environmentalproblems fund researches on new energy sources such as solar and wind power protect forests and natural wildlife species pass and enforce laws to reduce the

In the situation that the natural environment is under severe threat, it is necessary for governments to take action on the protection of the environment. Some people believe that it is important to fund research on new energy resources or preserve natural places, while others feel that the government should prioritize the regulation about industrial pollution. From where I stand, reducing the pollution produced by companies and industries is an urgent need for the protection of the natural environment. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the government plays an irreplaceable role in reducing the pollution produced by companies and industries through its force of law. By saying this I mean that funding research on new energy resources and reserving natural places can be supported by other organizations such as companies or non-profit organizations. Nevertheless, industrial pollution can be considered as a controllable variable for the government noticing that the environment will be remarkably improved as soon as the law is passed. For example, once in our country those wasted water from industries was directly poured into rivers without any treatment. Before the enactment of environmental regulations, only social responsibilities could prevent those companies from polluting. The restriction and supervision from the government now effectively reduces those illegal discharges contributing to cleaner rivers that affect thousands of dwellers alongside. Without compulsory acts done by the government, there is no other party who is able to stop such pollution.

Admittedly, energy problems are urgent concerns due to the possibility of depletion of traditional energy sources such as fuel. Human beings are making all our efforts to promote research on new energy resources before those scarce energy sources are actually exhausted. Attempts at the application of new energy resources are necessary because energy consumption increases further as a result of technological advances. However, it is entirely possible for profitable companies to invest in energy resources development and research. For instance, faced with fierce competition from electric cars, one of the traditional automobile manufacturers in my country now turns to some other renewable energy resources as an alternative solution to fuel. To maintain its market share in the automobile industry, it invested a large sum of money in research on hydrogen power development. The market reacts positively toward its effort to new energy giving rise to a higher business valuation recently. This example demonstrates the alternative approach available to finding financial support other than the government in developing new energy resources.

In conclusion, I feel that it is vital for the government to take action on reducing industrial pollution rather than preserving natural resources or new energy research. This is because the government is the only party that prevents pollution.