44. Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

People name someone a hero who solves a social problem or saves others. I think that though media scrutiny can diminish someone’s reputation, it is still possible for a society to consider any living person as a hero. Critics would assert that because media can reveal an individual’s unjust achievements and immoral behavior, the contemporary person would not be regarded as a hero. However, since the media show people’s not only bad but also positive outcomes and these days ubiquitous social media can unearth individual’s unseen good deed, a society can regard any living man or woman as a hero.

First of all, when media reveal a figure’s positive achievement, people could regard him or her like a hero even he or she has a bad achievement also. Opponents would assert that the media could emphasize one’s unjust achievements, leading people to evaluate that the one is not a hero. At this point, we need to remind the definition of “hero” as defined above. The “hero” is just a person who solves people’s facing problem or saves others from dangerous circumstances. It does not mean the “perfect” one. Therefore, if one had achieved a positive result, which society needs, and it is well promoted by the media, people in the society think him or her as a hero as long as the dark side of him or her performance does not harm the positive outcome. For instance, though Bill Clinton had a hard time because of a sex scandal with his secretary, the media have also reported his economic achievements and people value them highly. There is a famous phrase “When Clinton lied, no one died.” which point out that people do not care about his scandal when they evaluate his achievements as a president. Therefore, he succeeded in reelection.

Secondly, the media can unearth people’s unseen good behavior and make them become a hero among people. Although critics contend that the media can show an individual’s immoral problem such as reporting “#Metoo movement” and bring him or her to ruin, they also introduce people’s unknown good deeds. Especially, these days ubiquitous spread of social media, such as Twitter, Instagram, Facebook etc., has allowed people’s good deeds to become known and disseminated more quickly. For example, recently in Korea, several men have saved children who trapped in a burning school bus. The video showing them saving the children has spread quickly through social media. In the end, they were honored by the local police.

In conclusion, I think that even the media scrutiny can diminish the reputation of anyone, it is possible for people to consider any living person as a hero. It is because the media can show anyone’s positive achievement and nowadays spreading social media can disseminate people’s good deeds quickly.