Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium - substances essential for building and maintaining bones.Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age.But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study.Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's statement negatively linking a diet rich in dairy products to the risk of osteoporosis is based on a number of assumptions, when proven unwarranted can lead to serious flaws in his claims. The author statements, though logical, is not substantiated with concrete evidence.

Building upon the implication that milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium, the author states that, many people claim a diet rich in dairy products can help osteoporosis. Here, the author is basing his claim on the belief that the people who makes these claims are experts in the field of osteoporosis. However, these people maybe laypersons who have no degree in the field of this disease and hence, it would be incorrect to take their statement into account. moreover, the author claims that the disease is linked to environmental and genetic factors and it causes the bones to weaken. Since, the disease can be caused by many factors, it is not correct to assume that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent this disease. thus, the author's initial claim of the preventing osteoporosis by consuming a diet rich in dairy products is spurious.

Additionally, the author states that a long-term study of a large number of people who consumed dairy products regularly have a higher rate of bone fractures than other participants in the study. The scope and validity of the study, which is used by the author to make his claims, is not clear. For example, the long-term study over the years could be for two years or even for hundred years. moreover, the author does not provide information regarding how the study was performed or what tests were used to form the results. The study could have been performed by an inchoate who had no experience in this field of study and provided dubious results. hence, it is not clear why this study should be considered valid, and the author should not use it to prove his claims.

Furthermore, the study states that people who consumed dairy products have a higher rate of bone fractures than other participants. A higher rate of bone fracture does not indicate that the person is suffering from osteoporosis. Although, weak bones is a symptom of osteoporosis, bone fractures can be caused due to various other external factors. For example, the person could have injured himself when he tumbled on to the ground while jogging. Therefore, we can cannot consider bone fractures as an indication for osteoporosis.

To recapitulate, the author's claims about linking dairy products to the disease, osteoporosis, seemed to have resulted from more of a wishful thinking, rather than providing concrete evidence. thus, we cannot draw any conclusions regarding the correlation between dairy products and osteoporosis, and dairy products may in fact have no effects with respect to increasing or decreasing the risk of osteoporosis.