Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium - substances essential for building and maintaining bones.Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age.But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study.Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that a diet rich in diary products will increase the risk of osteoporosis may seem tenable at first glance. However, the argument is rife with premises. Primarily, the the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that all bone fractures imply osteoporosis, rendering its main conclusion invalid.

The author reasons that all bone fractures are directly engendered by osteoporosis. Bone fractures can be caused by numerous other reasons. Fall from a certain height, or some form of cancer can cause bone fractures. This possibility is not accounted in the argument though. Hence, the author needs to provide evidence that osteoporosis is the only cause for bone fractures to bolster his argument.

Furthermore, no information regarding the study is provided in the argument. The study may not be representative of the public. Selection of volunteers for the study needs to be explained. The volunteers chosen for the study may be more prone to bone fractures than the general public. The volunteers selected may as well have some other common features among them. For a more representative study the selection should be from different age groups, occupation, lifestyles, etc. Had the argument provided information regarding the above mentioned features study, the study could have been considered more reliable.

Additionally, the author asserts that a diet rich in diary products will increase osteoporosis. The author states the result of the study to buttress his conclusion. Then again, we do not know whether a diet rich in diary products are the primary cause for disease. Maybe the people who are more vulnerable to bone fractures include more diary products in their diet. The study should be more controlled about the factors affecting the results of the study to strengthen the argument.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, its fails to make a convincing case that a diet rich in diary products will increase the risk of osteoporosis.