The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Encouragement and approval always help people grow their innate talents, but this does not mean that we should concentrate only on praising the positive sides of a person and ignoring the negative sides. Mistakes need to be pointed out for the complete development of a person.

The primary issue with the notion is that praising only the positive sides of an individual will make the person unaware of his/her negatives. For example, if a child is brought up under parents who do not admonish the child when necessary, there is a high chance that the child will turn out to be spoiled. The child should be corrected when he/she commits a mistake like hurting one of his/her siblings. The child would not know what he/she did was wrong unless they are corrected, and hence would continue to repeat the same mistakes again. Thus, we can say that individuals should be given proper corrections when necessary for the proper growth of the individual.

The secondary issue with complimenting is that people tend to overdo it. We know any desirable thing in excess will have undesirable results. Likewise, while complimenting, if a person overdoes it, the person at the receiving end might find it patronizing. While proper encouragement is important for a person's self-confidence, supporting a person unnecessarily would cause in destroying the person's self-confidence. In addition, a person should maintain a balance while complimenting. For instance, if a math teacher likes one of his/her bright students, and always praises the students in front of other students, the other students might find himself or herself inferior to the bright student. This would make the other students to dislike math, and they would even find the math teacher being partial. On the other hand, the bright student might also find it hard since the other students would start to dislike him/her and would even call him/her teacher's pet. Thus, we can see that if compliments are not dealt with caution, it can have more negative effects than positive effects.

While both the above arguments hold true, one might say it is important for a person to praise positive actions of other and ignore the negative ones. It can be true partially, but not wholly. While there are negative sides to praising, it still holds an important part in shaping an individual. For instance, in a company if a manager is very strict and spends more time on finding the faults with every one, the employees would be reluctant to work in the company. The hard-working employees would find it very hard since their efforts are not recognized. This would ultimately result in employees quitting the company. Instead, if their minor peccadilloes are ignored and their hard work is given proper recognition, the employees would be more enthusiastic to work for the company. Hence, we can say that praising the positive sides and ignoring minor peccadilloes can have a positive effect if dealt with caution.

In sum, while praising the positive sides of an individual would help in shaping the person's personality, mistakes also need to be pointed out for his/her complete growth.