It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

While it is true that cities are a hub of commercial, political and educational activities of a nation. The big cities play a vital role in the economic stability of the nation. However it would be unjustified to credit cities with the bastion of cultural traditions of a nation.

The cities are usually subject to the large influx of people who are in search of better job, educational opportunities or improved lifestyle. These people come from a different social and cultural backgrounds, Moreover, lot of them could be even coming from foreign countries. This influx of population from everywhere creates a fusion which significantly change the demography of the cities. The emigrants bring their own cultural traditions with them and do not embrace the existing one as it is. So this fusion of population and their cultures significantly change the original cultural traditions.

To elaborate the above mentioned point on can take the example of Paris which is a capital city of France. Owing to its economic and tourist potential, Paris is inhabited by lots of foreign emigrants. These emigrants from all over the world have brought with them their own cultural traditions which are significantly different from French culture. Similarly there are examples of many cities like New York, Karachi and London where the foreign culture has significantly influenced the local culture.

The cultural traditions are in fact better preserved in the countryside or rural setups where the foreign emigrants are less likely to visit. One can easily find the local folk singers and dancers in the countryside while cities are full of clubs offering local music with a twist of foreign element in it. Similarly the way local festivals are celebrated in villages are certainly more authentic as compare to the cities. Kite flying festival in Lahore could be as an example here. Traditionally, the kite flying festival locally known as 'Basant' was meant to celebrate the arrival of Spring season in Punjab. The people used to celebrate it by flying kites along with enjoying traditional music and food. However, with the influx of emigrants from Eastern India in Lahore and addition of the glamorous commercial element significantly changed the original festival. Now people in Lahore have started celebrating it with loud foreign music and foreign food. The traditional small kites have been replaced with the large kites. Therefore a significant change has occurred in this traditional festival. However the same festival is still celebrated in rural parts of Punjab in same old fashion way.

Going through the evidence it could be concluded here that nation's culture is better preserved in the rural setups. The cities are always prone to invasion by foreign culture due to the inherent opportunities they offer to attract emigrants. Therefore the cities can never offer original cultural traditions indigenous to a nation.