The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

The issue posits a question "Who is superior! Creator or Created?". This debate has been recently intensified mainly owing to the progress made by science in developing so called 'autonomous machines'. While some people argue that a thing that has been developed by someone cannot out smart the creator, the people on the other side of the fence straight away points to the computer beating the human chess world champion. While their example is very relevant and compelling, however to designate something superior to another demands superiority in all aspects. Do really the machines are superior in every aspect?

Research has revealed that humans have so far been successful in using only a fraction of its brain. This basically means that there is a lot more about the human mind that is still unexplored and unknown. Even the current generation machines have limited intelligence and only functions accurately in a well defined environment. For example the autonomous air crafts known as unmanned aerial vehicles could only land and take off if the environmental conditions for which they are designed exists. In case of any deviation from ideal situation the results are usually catastrophic. Similarly, robots can only distinguish among objects that have been taught to them by humans and fail once an unknown object pops out. Therefore, machines have so far only limited capabilities and cannot be regarded as superior to humans.

Although, the earlier machines were dumb and had limited capabilities, the modern machines have been augmented with Artificial intelligence. This latest innovation of artificial intelligence have turned these ordinary unintelligent machines into the so called 'smart machines'. The concept behind Artificial intelligence is that the machines instead of relying on the preassigned decision making algorithms could actually come up with the solutions based on the prevailing situation through learning just as human beings do. Scientists are so far trying to inculcate and emulate the thought process of a human mind in these machines with a limited degree of success. There is no doubt that this is an astounding achievement in itself, however we are still far from developing machines that can actually think in a manner that could be attributed superior or even closer to human cognition.

Going through the arguments and evidence, it could be concluded that despite an enormous development we have achieved so far, we are still partially successful in achieving the goal of an actual 'smart machine'. Moreover, only human beings have used only fraction of their brains till date which is still far superior to the machines of today. However, the topic stretches the timeline to eternity by using the word "always". Therefore, we may never know for sure that whether the machines would eventually surpass human intellect or not but what we do know for sure is that currently the human mind is far more capable even with the fraction of its usage.