People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

Behavior of a person defines the way people react in a certain situation. The behavior actually guide the actions and responses. Then a logical question arises that how this behavior is inculcated in that person ? Is it something associated with the genetics ? or is something related to the environment ? or is it something shaped by the person himself ? The issue here presents dilemma of determining cause of one's behavior. I believe that behavior of any person is strongly influenced by the environment in which one is being nurtured.

Just after the birth a person starts to get influenced by his surroundings. The nursing staff take care of his or her health by keeping him or her under intensive care. The parents take care of his nutritional requirements and as soon as the person reaches the age at which he or she can appreciate the world around, the parents start to teach in order to prepare him or her for the future. This teaching continues throughout the remaining life of a person, however the number of teachers start to grow. Every little thing influences the person, may it be as insignificant as a small ant or may be it is as enormous and fierce as a tiger. From ant one learns the value of discipline and perseverance, while the tiger teaches the bravery and importance of standing up for yourself. Thus the environment around influence the person and reflect in its behavior.

If one has a keen sense of observation, one can find the similarity of behavior of a particular class of people. For example the people with high social standing and rich background behave in a more haughty manner as compare to people from lower social classes. Although there are minor exceptions to this but generally it holds true. The reason for them to behave in similar manner is because of the influence by the environmental factors in which they have been brought up. This influence is just not restricted to the social classes but also extends in other dimensions. The similarity of behavior can easily be observed among people of same geographical location, race , religion or even institutions. Therefore the conditions in which a person has been brought up plays a significant role in shaping his behavior.

There has been a debate for sometime that whether nature determines the behavior or is it the nurturing. The proponents of the 'nature' theory argues that the genetics determine how a person would behave in a certain situation. While it could have been a small factor the examples supporting the 'nurturing' theory are far more ubiquitous. One can observe that the people of under develop world usually are not very particular about the hygiene and environmental pollution. However, once they visit the developed world and get influenced by the local population they usually change themselves and become aware of the consequences of being negligent towards hygiene and ultimately correct themselves.

Although there can be varying opinions about the issue but the evidence suggests that more often than not the behavior is determined by the factors that are actually not controlled by the person himself but in fact are determined by the environment in which that person lives.