Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

Art plays an important role in projecting the clean and peaceful of a nation. A society where art and culture is thriving is considered to superior to its contemporaries. History regards art loving societies in much better manner than societies that are not so much inclined towards arts. We can take the examples of societies like Greeks, Romans, Mesopotamians and many more which are still known for the love of arts and culture. However, an industry like art is not known for its economic viability. The people who can appreciate a true artistic work are rare and people who can actually financially support the artists are even more rare to find. Therefore, it becomes the responsibility to lend its financial support to art industry to keep it on its feet.

It has been widely believed that artists do not require money to produce great artistic work. While this argument is valid to a certain extent, however an artist no matter how much dedicated requires financial support to afford the daily cost of living. An artist having poor economic conditions would spend a lot of time for thinking ways to make ends meet and therefore would not spend enough time to produce quality art work.

Artists are not the only factor that requires financial aid to support their art, the quality art work might require extra ordinary financial effects in terms of material and infrastructure support. One can take the example of Norte Dame cathedral, which could not have been possible without the support of the emperor Constantine. Similarly, there are other examples like Eiffel tower in Paris , Taj Mahal in Agra, Pyramids of Egypt and many more. These art work could never have been available to us for appreciating them if the governments of that time have not supported these mega projects. Medicis' the rulers of Florence were known to be of great supporters of art and their support to Leonardo Da Vinci led to the great art work which is still an inspiration for the young artists of today.

It has been propagated that if government supports art it will eventually debase the artists and instead of producing art they would start using it for spreading the government propaganda. While this could be true for governments with autocratic rulers in which there is one or very few center of authorities and no proper system exists to distribute the funds fairly. In democratic countries where everything is institutionalized, the system for fairly distributing the funds can also be introduced which can easily overcome the stated apprehension.

The art and culture are actually the mirror of a society and one can easily take the pulse of any society by observing its progress in these fields. Therefore, it is very important for the government to support this industry and introduce fair system which can ensure the quality art work.