People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The topic asserts that our actions are mostly the result of factors that have nothing to do with ourselves or we do not have any significant influence in the illustration of our behavior. While the statement can hold true in many circumstances, however there are situations and instances in which people act according to their own will. Therefore, the statement is only partially agreeable.

According to psychologists, peoples' behavior is largely determined by three factors. The first one is the genetics by which are some personality traits are inherited from ancestors. The second one is the environmental influences or grooming, which shape the personality of a person while he / she grows up. The third one is the morality which forces a person to act in accordance with the established moral standards. Sigmund Freud summarizes this by presenting the concept of ID, Ego and Super Ego. The ID corresponds to Genetics while Ego corresponds to the reality or environment and super ego represents the morality. Out of these three, morality based actions are determined by the person himself, the actions that are result of environmental influences and genetics are not entirely based on one's free will. Therefore, the cause of one's behavior cannot be attributed solely to the person's free will.

Moreover, the behavior of people differs as we move around different countries, regions or even in different neighborhood of the same city. This points out to the fact that few of the factors that determine one's behavior are culture, social class, educational background and economics. All these factors are largely not one own making. For instance, one does not choose his culture and social class, usually these are assigned to a person by virtue of his birth. Similarly, while there are exceptions very few manage to change their economic conditions; and educational opportunities are somewhat linked to ones financial status. Very few people manage to alter there social and economic status and majority usually surrenders to the fate.

However, situation is not so helpless, people do influence their behavior. Take for instance the anger management we do during our daily life. While, the situation may be such that might instigate anger and our impulse reaction would be to hit the other person, however many a times we calm ourselves and manage to control our angry behavior.Similarly we handle or manage our emotions and stress; and alter our impulsive behavior. These few examples suggest that people are not entirely helpless and they do have a influence on their behavior.

Despite, the behavior of people is determined by the factors that are beyond their control, however their are situations in which people alter their behavior by their own free will. This taking control of their behavior is largely influenced by morality. Therefore, while in most situations people's behavior is influenced by environmental factors or upbringing, there are instances in which people do act according to their free will.