The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves

The question that has been posed here is "Whether the accelerated pace of modern day life is resolving our problems or is it other way around?". Societies are a combination of different types of people. While some might be very intelligent, industrious, physically fit and highly motivated whereas others have untoward personality traits like ordinary IQ level, torpidity, invigorating and less enthusiastic. This basically means that every person can work on its on pace and would not be able to contribute in the same manner like others. A healthy society should be the one in which everyone has a place and where everyone could exercise his abilities to make progress and contribute towards a healthy living. So the rapidity of modern day life might suite a few, however it would not be possible for everyone to match pace with it.

A system that is only suitable for a few privileged people is bound to collapse. Imagine a society which only supports the exceptionally talented and intelligent people and neglects others; this society would produce disharmony and lack of empathy. The ultimate result would be that those who cannot match the pace of upper class talented people would eventually be out of work. This would result in an increasing burden on the fast pacers and eventually they would also be exhausted and this would result in an ultimate 'Dooms Day' scenario.

The proponents of of the idea of 'fast paced life' argues that it would result into accelerated development. As a consequence of which economic progress would be achieved which would ultimately translate into the improvement of quality of life. This idea might hold true to some extent however if one analyses this perceptively it can be inferred that the quality of life may actually decrease as a consequence of this. The reason for this is that the fast pace life would require more time and efforts from the people. This requirement would have to be catered from the time that is actually currently available for recreational activities. Therefore the fast pace hectic life style would induce more fatigue both physically and mentally and would eventually result in the deterioration in the quality of life.

Going through the arguments it could be concluded that fast pace life style can only be maintained by a limited faction of society and this would result in alienating a large faction of a society. Furthermore, the accelerated pace is eventually going to effect the quality of life. Therefore, the rapidity might accelerate development but it would definitely induce more problems than it can resolve.