Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your rea

There has been a long standing debate regarding whether the educational institutions should or should not interfere in the selection choice of the field of study for students. The supporters of the argument believe that the students are the best judge of their abilities and they should be allowed to select their are of interest in education. They also propagate the importance of free will as their argument. However, I believe that Educational institutions should interject and persuade students to avoid selecting the field of study in which they are not likely perform according to their abilities.

Educational institutions are hub of learned academics who have spent large part of their lives working with the students from diverse backgrounds. By virtue of their experience these educational specialists can easily find out the strengths and weaknesses of the students. They can project with great amount of accuracy that whether a particular student is going to excel in engineering, social sciences, arts or history. On the other hand the young students are naive and inexperienced, they have merely studied few elementary courses of a particular field. So their decision would be based on that limited knowledge which is invariably significantly less as compare to the esteemed academics. Therefore, a lifetime failure can be easily avoided if the decision for area of study could be taken in consultation with professionals of educational institutions.

The students usually select field of study that based on the level of their comfort in a particular subject. This basically means that the more easily they find a particular subject the more inclined they are for selecting it for their future. However, success may not be directly linked to the comfort level that one has in a particular field. It could depend on of other factors such as the scope of that field in the outside world and the quality of educational facilities for that particular field. While selecting a particular field a student might not consider such important factors, however the professionals at academic institutions would certainly consider such factors owing to their experience and nature of job.

It can be concluded here that educational institutions have a great responsibility in guiding the students for their area of study since students have limited knowledge for making this important decision. The careers of lots of students could be saved by interjecting at the right time instead of seeing them heading towards a certain failure.