The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The study concludes that if professors are given free tuition this will enhance morale and faculty retention. The conclusion is drawn from the observation that professors are more likely to stay when they're offered free tuition. This study assumes the above statement without providing enough evidence to coroborate it.The following 3 requested evidence should be provided for the study to be considered.

The conducted study would have to produce the difference in faculty retention of when the offer is made and isn't. It could be the case that retention without the offer is normally at a high percentage with the offer only bumping up that percentage by a minute number. It is thus neccesary that tangible proof in terms of factual nubers be provided to strengthen the study's assumption.

Still on topic with regards to the inadequacy of the proof provided by this study. The study fails to state if all retained professors even have children of college age. It's possible that the professors dont have any children and would love to work for Seatown university. it is also plausible that the proffessors have children who are done with college. the lack of evidence in terms of if these professors who choose to stay can benefit from the offer made further weakens this argument thus corroborating the inadequacy of the report of this study.

The study goes on to state that a scenario where this offer is made available to all professors would result in an increase in morale and would help Seatown secure more applicants. However, the study fails to indicate if the universities professors are currently uncomfortable with the fact that such offer isn't open to them or state factual proof that such an offer would result in an increased inflow of applications. possibly the university gets more applications than it can handle and thus would be acting against itself by making such an offer possible. it is also possible that the current lecturers have no business with such an offer as they are being paid insane amounts of money for salary. lack of proof that making such an offer to all professors would result in better morale or more professors wanting to join the institution exacerbates the severe flaws of this argument.

It goes without saying that the severe lack of evidence provided from this study puts a lot of holes in the assumption that an increase in offer of free tuition would result in an increase in the retention of professors. till the above requested evidences can be provided the argument stated by this study doesn't hold water and thus should be taken with a grain of salt.