Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the most powerful resource a human can imbibe. "Knowledge is a weapon. I plan to be formidably armed." Prompt suggests that formal education restricts our minds from free thinking. In my opinion, formal education does not restrict our minds from independent thinking for three reasons.

First of all, formal education professes the fundamentals of the subject. A person needs to understand the core values of a subject to think deeper and develop new theories of his own. For instance, a mathematician must know the fundamentals of mathematics to build a new theory that adheres to the precedented laws of mathematics and, of course, logic. Formal education, in any field, does not hinder free thinking whereas it accumulates a wealth of knowledge. It serves as a principle to new ideologies.

Secondly, formal education provides structure and methodology to free thinkers to create new theories. Every field of study has a method of practice. For instance, a chemistry student must follow the code of testing when investigating a chemical's property. It does not prevent a person from trying new experiments but it specifies how an operation must be conducted. Formal education provides a structure of how an experiment should be organized and methodology of how it should be conducted and does not hinder free thinking.

Lastly, formal education promotes free thinking by reasoning the logic of existing 'formal education' theories and provides direction for further advancement. For example, Alfred Marshall stated that the demand for goods is inversely proportional to its price. It was widely accepted and praised until many economists criticized for various reasons one of them being, the demand for certain basic goods will not change even if there is a change in the price. Hence we can say that due to the existing knowledge one possesses, one can refute or advance a theory based on logic.

Advocates of the prompt may assert that formal education hinders free thinking by superimposing the thoughts of early academicians. But it merely gives a fundamental thought to the students with which they can create their own theories. Every scientist, philosopher or economist who has developed significant theories (which has not been refuted and dismissed) in their field have an understanding of formal education. Therefore, in my opinion, formal education does not prevent free thinking instead it advocates free thinking.