television is entirely democratic in that its content is controlled by what the people want

Television has advanced from a box-looking object to a flat screen mounted on the wall.

It is still debatable over the pros and cons of this technological invention. Today, it is indisputable that almost every household owns a television. Television networks and broadcast companies control the supply of the content to the televisions. These broadcasters are widely criticized by viewers for their content. The viewers believe there remains (is)autocracy in (content selection) the selection of the content to be broadcasted for the following four reasons.

Firstly, it is to be understood that every broadcasting company has a profit agenda. Contents are chosen based on the revenue it earns per episode. Consumers are given no choice for content selection. For example, reality television is commanding the entertainment industry and there is a large population who dislike it.

Secondly, the broadcasting companies and the production houses are slowly abolishing certain genres and changing the trend of the industry. These corporations are seeking profits hence have vested interests towards certain popular artists. For example, the launch of MTV has boosted the pop and hip hop culture but has severely affected the rock music industry. Rock music is worshipped by a great percentage of the population. Many people believe that since the inception of MTV, artists have declined in rock but risen in pop.

Thirdly, the aforementioned businesses operate for profit. Advertisements are a good stream of revenue for television broadcasters. Nowadays television channels have more advertisement time than show run-time. This is not what any consumer wants but is forced to bear with these externalities.

Finally, there is no sense of democracy in the creation of the content. The producers create what they deem to be fitting. There is no channelization of thoughts with that of the public's opinion. This seems to be more tending towards an autocratic style rather than a democracy.

Therefore, the claim that 'television is entirely democratic in that its content is controlled by what the people want', is completely false. The decision and the control of the content lie with the broadcasting network companies and the producers. Decisions taken by these companies are motivated by profit and not on the likes of the public.