Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many researchers over the years have stated that an individual's happiness scale( work-life balance) at work depends on their interests rather than the skills they possess. Further, an individual will work more efficiently in a job which he likes. The prompt suggests that students cannot be motivated by schools and colleges alone, there are other factors which affect learning. Hence, it can be said that learning is a personal discipline. In my opinion, the statement above is mostly true for the following three reasons.

When it comes to learning, interest is the most important factor. An individual will grasp things faster if he or she has a predilection towards that subject or activity. For instance, a student may be studying engineering but he also has a strong liking towards accounts. Hence, in most cases, it would be easier for this student to study accounts than his peers because he has a deep interest in accounts. Therefore, it is not just schools or colleges which play a role for students in learning but there are also other factors, in this case, interest, which determines the nature towards learning.

Also, learning is dependent on other factors as well, for instance, it depends upon the exposure to different professions and what he or she aspires to become. For example, a marketing student wanting to be recruited by the best marketing company would learn the basics of data analytics because it is a requirement for the job he or she desires. Hence, the need for learning is not just part of the curriculum in school but instead, it is a means for achieving something one desires.

Although, schools in some parts of the world are partly responsible for independent learning as well. For instance, schools in Norway do not have a specified curriculum for students until 8th grade. The basics are taught to them about language and mathematics. During other times, they have the freedom to choose what they want to learn. This kind of student development showcases the personal discipline in learning within the school.

To conclude, learning is a continuous process and there is no age limit bound to it. Schools and colleges play a major role in delivering the knowledge to students but there are other factors also which determine the urge to learn. Therefore, learning is a matter of personal discipline.