The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> In our society, many cultures exist and those cultures are prone to change according to the time. It is completely agreeable that to understand the contemporary culture in a most effective way is to analyze the trends of its youth.

First of all, the young generation of any society is the flag bearer of any new changes. Any new trends are first accepted by the youth of any society. For example, when the Pop song came it was the youth who started advocating that new style of the song. But the older generation continues to criticize the Pop culture and did not consider it as an elegant form of music. So if one wants to understand the contemporary culture they must analyze the trends which the young generation is following as they are the people who influenced by the new culture and trends.

Secondly, many different kinds of people exist in our society. Everybody has their own taste and own logic to follow and to do something. To understand what is the current trends going on in a particular society if somebody observes all the people and generations of the society they will get different kind of opinion which will give negative information about the new trends. But if only the young generation is been observed mostly we will get a specific kind of pattern which they are following in their day to day life. For instance, if we want to know which dress or hairstyle is trending now, we must observe the young people what they are wearing, what kind of hairstyle most of them have. If we start observing the older generation we will find a different kind of information which does not match which we have got observing the young people. Because the older generation generally tends to follow the trends which they are accustomed to and which existed at their time. So, the young generation must be the point of observation to get a clear idea about contemporary culture.

Furthermore, one might argue that older generation is also following the current trends nowadays to survive in the society, so if somebody has to get an idea about the current trends older generation should not be neglected. But, in general, some of the people might be following the current trends but it can not be completely the new culture they are following, it will be mixed with the trends of their own generation as well. Thus, analyzing the people from the other generations rather than the youth would give a piece of inaccurate information about the contemporary culture.

To conclude, no generation should be neglected to understand a particular culture but to understand contemporary culture it is desirable to analyze the trends which the young generation is following for a better and complete understanding. </span><br>