Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given text claims that so called Palean baskets were not uniquely from the village Palea. This premise is based on the observation that "Palean" baskets are also found in Lithos, a neighboring village to Palea separated from river. To add to this the separating Brim river is very deep and broad, which can only be crossed by boat, no trace of which has been found in Palea. This would have made for a tenable argument provided at least two things were conclusively explained.

It has been clearly been mentioned in the passage that no Palean boats have been found. However, there is not sufficient evidence to claim that boats did not exist in the neighboring village of Lithos. If hey did, it would render the argument moot since Lithos villagers would have easily crossed the river and interacted with the Palea population.

It has also been mentioned that the Brim river was deep and broad and could only be crossed by boat. There is little substance to deny the possibility of any natural bridges or connectivity by land. We can not say that the entire Palea population was living on an island due to which any movement would have been difficult.

The term boats is also quite loosely defined in the passage. We have to assume that all boat like entities such as rafts, etc were taken into account while making the argument. The river has been termed as broad and deep but no actual dimensions have been supplied to rule out the possibly that villagers could swim from one village to the other. Since, these assumptions are not addressed in the text, one can conclude that the evidence provided is not irrefutable.