An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The speaker unreasonably concludes that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.Among the several untenable assumptions,the most glaring one pertains about the link between insomnia and the scented lavender flowers is entirely unsupported.The evidence proffered by the speaker about proving it as effective for good sleep which was noticed by volunteers who were under observation.The evidence is insubstantial and irrelevant to the issues involved.Therefore,unless a number of questions are answered satisfactorily,this cannot be considered as cogent argument.

Firstly,the speaker states that the traditional remedy to treat insomnia by using scent of lavender flowers is proved as effective but no proper detailed information about how it was proved he failed to mention if any theories were done before and worked successfully.It is not clearly stated about which time does the recent study refers like months ago or is it a week.There was no specific age group to which the volunteers belongs to was given by the speaker and whether did all of them stayed for the entire three weeks is unclear.The volunteers monitored were selected on what basis would be more convincing to support the argument.

Secondly,The speaker fails to give the statistical data of weekly performance including more elaborate details of the volunteers about what is the reason for insomnia as it was only their nights which are observed what activities they do in day time.If a person is jobless and sleeps whole day then in the night he would obviously have sleep issues and what if a person who is under some medication for any disease might have insomnia.These details would help us understand more precisely about the study.The weekly analysis should have been represented with hours of sleep like was it for 8 hours or 10 hours could add an advantage.

Thirdly,The sleeping medication taken by the volunteers is not detailed clearly.In the first two weeks he mentions that the volunteers woke up tired but has no relative information as to why there was not much change even after the medication.Does the lavender flowers takes 3 weeks long to treat as a remedy?Inspite of having the pillow right from beginning why didn't they feel the change in the first two weeks?If the sleeping medication is continued then the pillows will be working effectively or not was not detailed in the study.

In the conclusion,This argument would have been more eloquent if the speaker has given more information about the monitoring of volunteers with more informative data and statistics.Without the alternative information and in the absence of detailed explanations this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.