The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is predicted that as the decrease of temperature, the need of home heating oil will increase. Regarding this issue, the author argues that people need to invest in Consolidated Industries to keep up with this need. They present evidence to validate their view by including the areas affected by these decrease of temperature. Though the underlying issue may have merit, due to vague terminology that the author uses and the lack of relevant evidence, the author’s argument is unsubstantial and deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author supports their argument using terminology to show the need of home heating oil; however, the terminology that they use are vague. For example, the author states that, “many homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating”. The use of “many” and “typically” weakens the author’s argument instead of strengthen it because although “many” homes use oil, there are other uses for heating. Also the use of “typically” shows that it is not cold and the use of heating is not needed. Throughout the author’s argument, they use these types of terminology to assume that the use of oil is needed for heating.

Secondly, the author lacks relevant evidence for their argument. Although they provide sound arguments, the argument is lacking more evidence to strengthen the author’s point. For example, if the author provided a study that gave more statistical data about the use of oil being used for heating. If the author provided more evidence that showed how the need of oil is needed, it would make their argument more substantial.

Although the author has a good argument, as it stands now, their argument is unsubstantial and flawed. The author uses vague terminology and lacks relevant evidence that hinders their argument.