Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Universities are the best sources of education for students. It is when people from varied backgrounds come together and share their ideas, they tend to broaden their perspectives. Usually universities allow students to choose their intended choice of subjects but in some universities, apart from the electives, there are a few subjects which are mandated and must be availed by all students. The debate of whether this system is beneficial for the students or a distraction is still ongoing.

Consider most of the engineering institutes in India. Every student in their first year of course needs to take subjects pertaining to other departments as well. For instance, a computer science undergrad has to go through rudimentary courses on mechanics and civil structures as well as chemicals and electronics. Even though these are not related to the curriculum that the student is going to follow for the rest of the course, giving a basic idea about all the fields helps the student to identify and nurture their interests. A huge proportion of students in India make a significant shift in their fields from undergrad to postgrad. This is because of unawareness about available opportunities and fields that an individual could follow, in countries like India. The courses in postgrad then get more concentrated towards the chosen fields. This hierarchy of generalisation to specialisation has been incorporated in the educational system, not only in countries like India, but almost whole of the world.

It is a well-known posit that universities might just prepare us for the outside world, but the situations faced in the outside world are much more varied than those taught in the universities. There are fields like machine learning and artificial intelligence which are applicable to a lot of different areas ranging from neurology to machine automation to video/audio analysis. Working in projects like the ones mentioned, requires more domain knowledge to understand the problem better, to be able to come up with efficient solutions. If taken some basic courses in universities outside of major field of study, it makes the student capable of grasping the new information about various fields, in future if the situation demands. Also, that will make an individual more aware about the world and thus will be able to come up with solutions to tackle world problems using his chosen field of major.

Lastly, even though the claim and corresponding reason have some wisdom, but the proportion of subjects of the chosen major available to the students must be high. It shouldn’t be the case that the students get distracted by secondary subjects and lose focus in their primary field of major.