In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

In todays world, with the advent of technology and growing population, information exchange has become super easy. Where earlier people were used to news passing from person to person, these days, dailies, television, radio have turned out to be improved ways of information transmission. But the increasing number of these sources have inundated our society with perplexing thoughts and opinions. With this large coverage by media, it is tough for any man or woman to be considered as a hero, as even if the media portrays him or her as such, the opinions of the thousands of viewers will differ a lot.

The irony is that these days people show magnanimity towards the society to get famous and not the other way around. The whole agenda of majority NGOs and public servants is to become popular and gain money. Media has made it easy for people to achieve this incentive. YouTube can be considered as an example. Anyone who gets trending, irrespective of the deeds they perform are at a monetary advantage. It is impractical in this environment for anyone to retain the reputation of a hero for more than a week.

Talking about monetary incentives, the whole business of media has been diverted towards money-making. Open a newspaper and more than news you will find a plethora of pamphlets of fashionable clothing brands and lucrative sales and discounts at the nearest malls. Anything or anyone that has the potential to go viral is considered as top news. Obviously when there is news about a new saint in town or a celebrity conflict at a big show, not many people would be interested to know about that benevolent person who has started an initiative to feed impecunious kids of his city.

As every coin has two sides, the same media which can rise a person’s renown can degrade him in the very next second. A recent case which happened in the city of Delhi can be taken as a perfect example of this. A man who was just trying to stop a feral girl from breaking the traffic law was deemed as an abuser by the girl. This image was amplified by the media. Any news of abuse is likely to gain much attention as well as wrath of the public due to serious abuse cases in the city in the past. This led the poor man to lose his job and soil his reputation in city badly.

Thus, even though it is hard for the whole public to form a unified opinion about someone, there is still a chance for a person to be regarded as hero by them, ephemerally.