Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

We human beings, since childhood are wired to seek validation from others. The best way for us to do that is to gain fame and recognition. Most youngsters and even grown-ups have a tendency to go behind popularity instead of meaningful goals. A sense of realization must be introduced in the youngsters to help them pursue goals that matter at the end than not the trivial ones like popularity and validation.

In schools and colleges, the most notorious kids gain popularity easily and enjoy the attention of everyone. The sedulous ones who work hard for their dreams are not regarded at all or worse discredited by others for being sincere. The nascent minds of the kids are shaped in this particular way. The thoughts of notoriousness being awarded by excessive attention are imbibed in them so that they fail to see the ephemeral nature of fame. To create awareness among children, the teachers and professors must encourage the sedulous ones in front of other kids.

Mostly, at a young age, inchoate minds are not fixated at one goal. Youngsters tend to vacillate about their ambitions, career choice, etc. In this scenario, it becomes difficult to be fixated and inured at one particular goal. Overcoming this is very difficult as every child will have a different interest and that interest itself might be transient. There should be workshop sessions held for youngsters to inculcate in their interests, even though it might not be long term, but will add to their skillsets.

Lastly, there are a million examples of young achievers who went beyond their ages to achieve their dream. One such example is of Tanmay Bakshi, the computer science child prodigy who started coding at the age of 5. He started working for Google at the age of 13 and is lionized in the technology world. Youngsters must be made aware of such examples to show them that the way to achieve their long term goals as well as popularity might not be diverging.

Thus, young people are not at an age to understand the implications of their actions. If teachers and parents could guide them towards the right path, they will be surely able to see the bigger picture and focus their energy accordingly.