The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter introduced a study regarding the effects of the birth control on an individual’s levels of stimulation. The experiment use rhesus monkeys as a subject and provide evidence hoping to convince the reader about the valid of the experiment. However, the evidence provided in the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumption. There are many ways one could attack the author’s claim due to weak assumptions given by the author.

First, the author assumes that the rise in cortisol hormones must be the effect of an increased in levels of stimulation. Despite the fact that this is a main driven point as the experiment show the different of cortisol between firstborn and others, the author failed to prove that the rise in hormones found in these monkeys is only possible due to the increase level of stimulation. For instance, one could argue that the higher hormones level is only due to the fact that firstborn’s physical body is able to produce more hormones compared to their siblings. So even if all of the siblings encountered the same situation and experience the same level of stimulations, the firstborn would have higher hormones level. This explains why the firstborn could have higher levels of hormones, yet undermine the author’s claim that the order of birth effects the level’s of stimulations.

In addition to flawed assumptions about the relationship between the rise of cortisol hormones and level of alertness, the author assumes that the result of the study is valid. Yet, the author gives no further support regarding the validity aspect of the experiment. While the author did gave us the number of monkeys being tested on, which is eighteen, the sample size of the experiment does no seems to be enough for the test to be taken seriously. It might be the case that the monkeys selected for test just happened to have the characteristics listed in the letter, but is not a good representation of the overall monkeys, which might not have the same behavior of stimulation shown in the experiment. There might be some bias regarding the monkey selection which would lead to false representative of the experimenting group. Concluding the experiment just from eighteen monkeys seems unconvincing.

Another assumption made by the author is that the higher levels of cortisol in the first-time mother shows is a good explanations on how the first born would have higher level of stimulations. The assumption is not logically sound due to many logical flawed. First, the rise in level of cortisol might be caused from external factor. For instance, the first-time mother might feel more anxious as they never have been through pregnant process before, thus would have higher level of stimulation. After the first time, it is then not surprising if the mother would have less stimulation level as they were more familiar with the process. In addition, age is also another important factor that the author did not take into the consideration. The mother of any species would have been younger when they have their first child. If the hormone level is correlated to the age of the mother, then this would undermine this assumption of the author.

As a conclusion, the argument made by the author is not convincing as the author failed to provided a reasonable relationship between rise of cortisol hormones and the level of stimulation, the credibility of the result of the experiment, and alternatives reasons that can caused first born mother to have higher cortisol. Ultimately, if the author provides evidence to supports each of the assumptions, such as increase levels of stimulation would leads to higher level of hormones, or how the experiment done on eighteen monkeys can be trusted, then the argument would have been more convincing.