All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

Education is a long-lasting perplex process that requires many inputs. For most children, they spend as much time in school as at home. Actively participating in children’s schools provides parents a fresh angle to look into their kids’ school life. It is argued that all parents should volunteer in their children’s school. I would contend that the debate is far too complex for a single answer to hold true in all conditions.

Parents with busy schedules for various reasons should not be required to volunteer at their children’s schools. Some parents may have multiple jobs because they need to support the family by making extra money. It is hard to ask those parents to devote more time to their children’s schools. Other parents who are in specific professions, such as doctors and CEOs, are usually too busy and have different priorities, such as taking care of their patients or maintaining companies. It is also not reasonable to take away their time from focusing on their careers.

It should not be a requirement to have parents volunteer at their children’s schools. Most parents are paying for their children’s tuition. Therefore, they are supporting their children’s education financially, and expecting their children will receive the best education as possible. Receiving tuition from the parents, schools have the responsibility to provide quality education to each child. In this situation, asking parents to volunteer in school work should not be mandatory.

However, participating in children’s schools does bring several beneficial effects to both parents and their children.

Volunteering at schools creates stronger family bonds between parents and children. This is an opportunity for parents to communicate with their children and get to know them more through academia. This opportunity also allows parents to work closely with teachers. Teachers don’t have to spend as much time to explain the grades of each student to their parents. Instead, parents and teachers can work together to customize study plans for each student. Teachers will have the chance to explain the merits and weakness of each child to their parents face to face. Therefore, parents will know how to assist children in their school work at home. Together, parents and teachers can help children to achieve a better academic outcome.

Participating in school work not only benefits children in their academic but also relieve parents’ stress by distracting their attention from work. Besides enhancing the family tide with their children, parents are also learning contemporary knowledge in class. For many professions, parents repeat the same tasks every day without too much active thinking and problem-solving skills. Joining the classroom with their children forces parents to think with the children and teachers. This mutual-learning experience can potentially awake parents’ curiosity in learning. Seeing their own parents’ eagerness to learn, perhaps is the best motive for children to study harder.

There are an equal amount of positive and negative effects if parents are involved in children’s schooling. In conclusion, this proposed idea should be a suggestive proposal to implement in education, but should not be enacted as a mandatory one.