Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.(2)

Politicians are the leaders for our society. They determine the future direction in which the society drives towards; they make critical decisions to ensure the well-being of their citizens; and they set up goals that are of greater goods for the rest of the communities to follow. The author of the statement proposed that politicians should pursue more conventional goals rather than elusive ones. While I partially agree with the author to the extent that common ground consensuses are related to the well-being of the whole population, I still consider elusive ideals are as important as common goals. Elusive ideals might seem far away from our lives, but they are crucial for the future development of humanity.

Perhaps one of the most elusive ideals is how do we develop high-technologies and make sure that these technologies will always be under control. Politicians should think ahead for their people and set up plans for potential concerns. One of the responsibilities for politicians is to make rules that keep the society functionable. When high technologies invade, some ill-indented people might utilize such technologies to hamper the others’ cyber-security. For example, with the development of the Internet, people who have advanced computational skills might hack into their community safety networks and gather information that are important to national security. Some might even sell this information for personal profit. And they might be able to get away from punishment because of no new laws and rules would prevent them from committing such illegal activities. Thus, it becomes important for politicians to stipulate new rules and laws to prevent such actions. Politicians should think about what is the next technology that would potentially become the threat to the nation. While such an idea is elusive and intangible, politicians should think ahead for their people.

Politicians should also take in considerations of their nation’s current statues and plan for a brighter future for every citizen. Many developing countries are still struggling on the poverty line, but they still invest money in higher education. In this scenario, according to the suggested statement, politicians should be focusing on developing agriculture and economy to eliminate property. Education under such environment seems to be a luxurious and elusive goal. But because of pursuing such elusive ideals, the nation will be able to generate citizen with advanced knowledge to help the country to develop faster in the long run.

However, we should still consider situations in which politicians should focus more on common ground goals rather than elusive ideals when the national security is in danger. In countries where wars keep happening, the first goal for the politicians would end the war as soon as possible and provide their citizens with a safe environment. Pursuing elusive goals such as arts and futuristic technologies would distract politicians from solving the basic needs for their people.

In sum, I strongly encourage politicians to consider and balance the importance between pursuing elusive ideas and common goals, rather than prefer one over another. Politicians should listen to their people and provide the basic needs for them, while envisioning the future developments of the whole nation even though they are illusive and hard to understand.