Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandals are usually used as weapons to tarnish someone’s reputation. The result is almost irreversible and can cause collateral damage. Scandals are often being disseminated through mass media to the general public by sensationalist journalism. The author stated that scandals are useful because they draw the audience’s attention on problems that no reformer or speaker could. I agree with the author that scandals, as a unique style of mass communication, have the ability to elicit people’s emotions and anger that no individual could. But I would not consider scandals as a useful piece of information.

Scandals often let people overlook the essence of the sensation news. In fact, scandals focus on generating emotion more than telling what is the truth. Media professionals are fans of scandals because stories with anecdotes are solid indicators of good sales. Thus, scandals are frequently being used as an effective tool to boost companies’ profits. This phenomenon exacerbates when such distorted stories are being told and they only bring out the negative emotions of the public to the point where it is hard to let the true story being heard. Therefore, I would consider scandals are a powerful medium to gather attention but I would not describe such medium as useful since it does not serve any public interest.

Secondly, scandals cause irreversible damage to someone’s fame. It takes one years of collection of effort to build up his/her reputation. But it only costs overnight to destroy such hard work. Although scandals sometimes reveal public figures' personal misconducts and wrongdoings, they often exaggerate the negative side of the narrative. It is important and prudent to note that everything has two sides and even the saints make some mistakes. Paying an excessive amount of attention to scandals would not teach us how to forgive others for their mistakes. And the physical and psychological damage caused by scandals would follow the victims in the long-term. In this case, scandals are no doubt a great strategy to grab attention from the public but they also cause trauma to the subjects of attention.

The last but not the least, scandals often overshadow the truth and the real stories that deserve to be heard. Perhaps the public needs to hear more journalistic stories rather than celebrities’ scandals. Compared to scandals, journalistic reports are less biased and contain more educational value. A thriving society needs to be nourished with factual and healthy information. A society with a notorious culture that focuses on sandals would not cast any benefits to its next generation. Therefore, scandals should not be considered as useful.

In sum, scandals have the power to gather attention and get its content spread across the society in an effective way no other content could. But the lack of educational value and the positive effect would deem scandals as less valuable information.