The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

Environmental hazard has been one of the most severe issues for humans to address in the contemporary era. The excessive amount of waste that human beings produce every day has exceeded the ability that nature could digest through the ecological system. Among all types of waste, consumer-generated waste such as plastic bags and non-disposable materials takes up a huge portion. It is argued that by implanting policies to set a ceiling of loads of waste that the government will accept would reduce the amount of waste that consumers generate. While agreeing with this proposed statement that it might have some positive effect to reduce waste and improve our living environment, it is not the most direct way to address this issue.

The proposed policy cannot directly reduce the amount of waste that citizens produce because citizens might toss trash through an alternative way, such as throwing trash in nature. The amount of consumer-generated waste depends on the size of the population; accept less waste from consumers does not directly reduce the amount of trash. It is argued that not every citizen has the highest moral standard in protecting the environment. Restraining the amount of trash to dispose of requires the public to consume food and buy goods accordingly. When the number of goods purchased in based on the limits that the amount of waste will be accepted, people will lose their economic freedom by getting restrained on their spending power. Furthermore, the economy will get impacted by people spending less on transactions.

The duty to reduce the burden of environmental problems should not only fall on citizens’ shoulders. The government and big corporations should also initiate this responsibility. Industrial wastes are usually more detrimental and pollutive than household wastes. The government should place higher standards on factories that generate pollution on a daily basis. Factories like power plants have major negative impacts on their local communities. Placing regulations on factories that generate hazardous waste will force them to pay attention to better process and limit industrial waste.

It is more reasonable to say that a better efficient way to eliminate human waste is to reduce the amount that we generate, instead of the amount that governments will accept and process. Regardless of how much the amount of waste the government will accept will not change the amount of waste that has been generated. Thus, the government could adopt practical policies such as promoting recyclable materials that are not harmful to the environment to improve environmental health. Developing green energy could also diminish environmental pollution. Factories should start to invest in the innovative use of energy that provides a clean energy source to the public. Green energy produces little to no pollution to the environment that will result in fewer to no tax for corporations to pay. This mutual benefit can further improve community health and the company’s profit.

In sum, we should consider various factors to tackle our environmental issues. Reducing waste should not be the consumers' duty only. To maximize the outcome of reducing human-generated waste, the government, citizens, and factories should work together to achieve a greener future for humanity.