Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Our minds and spirits alter how we perceive the world. There are many ways to improve our minds and spirits, such as friends and family, religion and spirituality, and education. Education is one of the most common ways to advance our knowledge and understanding of the world. The ways to pursue education can be categorized under formal education and informal education. Formal education varies in different counties. In highly developed countries, formal education systems are proven to have beneficial impacts on studying. But in countries that do not have a comprehensive education system, formal education systems somewhat limit the development of children’s minds. We should decide what type of education is best for our children based on their needs.

Informal education, such as home school, can be more personalized for students who have special needs. For example, students who express their talent in computer programming at early age should be allowed to devote their time in learning coding programs. For students who have discovered their interests and skills, informal education gives them more freedom than formal education can.

One shortcoming that formal education has is its monotonous exam system. Many developing countries have adopted formal education as their national standard education. To sift out the outstanding students, all students are required to take the same exam on all subjects to compete with each other. In China, the national college entry exam is called Gao Kao. Under the Chinese formal education system, students spend 12 years to prepare for Gao Kao and consider the test-taking skill to be the most important thing to learn. This institutional designed study system aims to select the best students from all, but it does not provide much creative space for students to explore other possibilities.

Formal education, on the other hand, has a universal beneficial effect on lifting up the entire population’s education level. Learning in a formal education system, students have the opportunities to discover what their passions are. For many students who feel undecided about their career paths, they can find an answer by taking courses on various subjects. Taking general classes also builds a foundation for students across majors to understand each other. If everyone only takes classes that speak to their interests, when they enter society, students will face challenges to communicate with people who hold a different point of view.

To sum up, the purpose of education is to nourish our minds and spirits. Education ignites our passion and gives us the tools to make innovation. There is no best way to pursue education. Both formal and informal education have their merits and vices. We should adopt the values from both forms of education and find what works best for us as individuals.