"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predi

The author of the passage suggested that there’s an increasing demand for heating oil in the northeastern United States because of ongoing low temperature in that region. To give accurate advice to residents in the northeastern region, the author needs to provide additional information and assessments to valid his/her claim. The author’s argument can be weakened in three aspects: the forecasters’ accuracy, potential materials that can replace oil as the major fuel source, and the overall economic growth in the region.

The author should be aware that we should use forecasters as indicators and predictors, not promises. Indeed, with the developed technologies, humans are able to accurately predict weather within a week. The author said that the weather in northeastern United States will stay low for a few more years. They did not provide what is the percentage that this prediction is likely to happen. If such a statement is merely a suggestion, the author cannot use it as a reliable factual evidence to persuade the local communities to purchase more heating oil, as well as a reasonable indicator to foresee the increasing demand of fuel.

Secondly, the author also needs to exanimate potential substitute for the burning oil in that region. With the overall awakening awareness of climate change, many people have started to pay attention to adopt green energy in their community. Heating oil, from fossil fuel, is a traditional ingredient for energy generator. There are many emerging green energies that have been widely adopted across the globe. One of them, perhaps the most popular one, is solar energy. If the weather in the northeastern US has been sunny most of the time, the local communities are likely to adopt solar energy to reduce carbon emissions. To eliminate the market threat to burning oil, the author needs to make sure that green energy is unlikely to develop in the northeastern region of the States. The author may cite a counter-example such as the higher cost for installing green energy at home to strengthen their arguments.

The last but not the least, the author did not provide a tenet evidence for the incoming population growth trend. The author only mentioned that many new homes are being built in the region but they have failed to prove that how many people are actually moving in. Once the real estate market price goes higher, it is very likely to discourage people to move in. Therefore, less people are likely to purchase and invest in consolidated industries.

In sum, the author did not provide a comprehensive argument and failed to back his/her argument with convincing evidences. To make their arguments more precise and prudent, they need to be prepared and providing the following three criteria: the accuracy of the weather forecasters, eliminate the potential substitute energy sources in local communities, and the actual number of people who will move into the region with a stable real-estate market price.