Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Quality education drives a nation forward. Having a good education perhaps equals to a promising future for students, and teachers play a significant role in it. In many countries, the teacher is not a lucrative profession. To make students achieve high academic performance, some teachers devote more effort and time in teaching. It is proposed that teachers should be compensated based on their teaching excellence. Some support this argument because they think teachers don’t get paid enough for what they contribute to our society. Others oppose this policy because teachers’ effort is not the only factor that affects students’ academic performance.

According to this policy, it is unfair to pay teachers who work in underdeveloped areas less than the ones who work in rich neighborhoods. Students from wealthy or highly educated families tend to perform better on academic than the ones who grew up in low-income families and whose parents did not receive higher education. More affluent students are more likely to take extracurriculars outside of school that further advance their academic performance. Therefore, based on the geological nature of schools, teachers would prefer to work in an institution that has more affluent students. This would exacerbate the education inequality between the riches and the poor.

Different regions have their own standards of academic excellence. This will directly impact teachers’ salaries, not students’ academic performance. For example, elite schools tend to have more difficult exams than public schools. Therefore, some elite schools may have lower grades than public schools. If this policy holds true, teachers in elite school would have lesser salaries than public school teachers. Many elite school teachers have more challenging duties than public school teachers, such as training students for competitions. It would be discrimination to elite school teachers.

On the other hand, some teachers should get paid more if they continuously help students achieving academic success, regardless of what institution the teachers work. Some teachers work in areas where the educational source is limited and still foster some of the best students in the country. These teachers should get rewarded, and one of the best ways to reword them perhaps is through financial incentives. This policy will recognize the teachers for their extra contribution and set a high standard for other teachers to look up to.

Therefore, teachers’ input does not directly affect students’ academic performance. It would be imprudent to compensate teachers based on their students’ achievements. But for teachers who constantly demonstrate their excellent teaching and improve students’ academic performance, these deserve to be awarded. And the best way to reward these outstanding teachers perhaps is higher paychecks.