Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

We should consider scandals as a type of content that is filled with notorious information about someone who’s either of the public interest or important to the livelihood of the population. The author stated that scandals are useful because it has the nature to draw an excessive amount of attention from the public, such as generating discussions or debates, in a way that no speaker could. While I agree with the author that scandals are powerful in influencing people and the society, I would not consider this type of content as useful because of its lack of educational value, unbalanced story-telling methods, and irreversible damage to targeted victims.

First of all, scandals are often contributing no social value to society. The reason why scandals are so effective and successful is that their content. People love to hear stories that are sensational and exceptional. Media likes to cover such stories because they generate sales and thus promote media companies’ revenue. But the sensation caused by scandals serves no beneficial purpose to the society, except ill-intentions and negative human emotions. Scandals are often about the wrongdoings and personal lives of celebrities or people of power. Of course, they are of public interest, but they are merely a debate or an anecdote to mention on the dinner table. Scandals do not deserve the attention that they have received in reality because they do not bring in any educational effect on society.

Secondly, one of the many reasons why scandals get disseminated effectively is because of the biased report methods. Media often shapes the narrative to the most extreme as they could to generate audience’s reactions. In general, these reactions are anger, disgust, and upset. These negative emotions thus can be used as the secondary coverage and reinforce the original story content. The more coverage on scandals would cause fewer coverages on other types of news that really deserve the public attention, such as climate change, human rights, and economy,

Scandals often leave trauma to the story subjects. Scandals generated the public’s negative emotions in response to story subjects. In the era of the Internet, it is much easier to locate the story subjects and attack them personally. For example, people can log in to social media and direct message the story subjects to express their anger. The most extreme case perhaps is to locate the story subjects in real life and cause them inconvenience. These effects of scandals can result in physical and psychological damage to people who were involved in the scandal. The consequence of scandals could threaten their personal safety and psychological trauma. Therefore, scandals should not be considered as a useful tool since they would victimize the people of the stories.

In sum, I partially disagree with the author that scandals are useful because of the sensations they could cause. But I have to admit that scandals are a powerful content that could easily elicit people’s attention and emotions.