The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

Studying subjects in humanity and the arts- be it history or anthropology, guides us through time and space and teaches us the important lesson that our predecessors left for us. Theses lessons enable and build a foundation that allows us to stand on the giants’ shoulders and keep building knowledge on what has been established. And that is just one of the benefits that studying history brings to society. The proposed statement suggests that the primary benefit of studying history is to eliminate our misconception that people from the past were almost living in the same condition as us. While I agree with the author’s point of view that to a certain degree humans are repeating their mistakes over time, I do not consider the proposed idea as the main benefit of studying history. In my opinion, there are many more important merits of studying history, such as making a reference for future decisions, cut short detour to achieve success, and create a more creative space for human off-springs to explore undiscovered realms.

History tells us what has been achieved by our predecessors so we don’t have to start every project from square one. Compared to many animals, what distinguishes humans from them is not that we have the longest lifespan, but we have the ability to record history. Because of history, we are able to pick up what has left unsolved and spend new energy and ideas to figure out the mystery which has been established by people who came before us. It is important to educate the public and urge them to study history, not as a subject of literature, but a subject of methodology to continue the great work.

Among human history, there were countless achievements. It is also equal to recognize the times of failures behind each success. Whether it was a success or a failure, they can all be seen as future references when we need to make similar decisions. Thus, history helps us to achieve our goals and avoid unnecessary problems. For example, Studies of history show us the consequences of wars between countries will always end badly, Knowing this, politicians and scholars perhaps will in favor of a more peaceful way to reach an agreement with other countries,

Recorded history often comes with bountiful ideas that were either previous executed or left unfinished. Therefore, these ideas could be used as inspirations to encourage the younger generation. The younger generation could either adopt these previous unfulfilled ideas or interpret the ideas in their ways. By studying history, one can easily get inspired and apply the used methods to solve modern problems, too.

In sum, studying history not only allows us to understand what had happened in the past and gave us a lesson about great human achievement but also illuminate brighter paths for us to discover. While it is true that people nowadays have similar struggles like their predecessors, the function of history is way bigger than just knowing that.