Unfortunately in contemporary society creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your rea

Our civilization has become modernized in the past few centuries. Humans tend to pay more attention to their individual growth. In today’s society, one of the many ways to express individualism is through polishing the personal images. A personal image perhaps could be interpreted as personal branding, plays an influential role in modern society. In the age of social media, people pay excessive attention to their online presence, crafting their personal images toward perfection, to build up a wonderful first impression. The proposed statement suggests that it is unfortunate creating such images becomes more important than the truth behind the image- our humanities and personal values. While I agree with the author of this statement that sometimes people might overemphasize their appearance and ignore their inner growth, there are some beneficial effects of building your personal brand images that we should not ignore.

Crafting one’s personal image could mean that a person is paying attention to their social appearance. There are many ways to practice self-care coming out of this argument, such as dressing up oneself and posting positive online status on social media. Pursuing these activities does not mean that they are more important than the reality behind the image. The notion of reality could mean differently to individuals who come from different backgrounds.

Creating an appealing image requires one to put in more effort into their social presence. With the development of social media, people tend to build virtual connections first before they meet in person. This could mean networking, job searching, and finding social interest groups. Under such a situation, it is important and even crucial for people to have a shining personal image online. It is argued that people with better online and social profiles are likely to acquire more opportunities in reality due to the impact of having a positive first impression. For example, recruiters tend to seek for potential job candidates with qualified resumes and social media accounts before sending out interview invitations.

While we should keep up our footsteps with the importance of building an appealing personal image to others, it is suggested that paying equal attention to keep up with the quality of the truth behind that image presented. The truth behind that image perhaps could be explained as the depth of one’s knowledge and skills. These qualities are what decide how long of the journey a person can walk. These characteristics have more impact on someone’s career path. Therefore, our personal growth in contemporary society is not any less than our social presence. A handful of sociology research has suggested that reading books and pursuing education can nourish our bodies and minds.

In sum, some might argue that people’s attention to building personal images might overshadow the truth and characteristics behind these images, I would say that it is imprudent to draw such a conclusion and apply it to the entire population. Perhaps what is best is that we should spend equal time and effort to build both external and internal value.