143. The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the writer recommends that the city should reduce its funding of the symphony because the symphony has succeeded in getting an audience. What underlies such a recommendation is the assumption that the symphony has become self-sustaining. To support his/her suggestion, the writer uses a series of evidence to demonstrate that the symphony can self-sustaining with the help of private contribution and so on. While this recommendation might be beneficial to some extent, the reasoning of this argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author’s recommendation.

First of all, the author’s recommendation relies heavily on the assumption that the symphony can make more profit. But we do not know what is the “self-sustaining”. If it turns out that the symphony has a good balance between profit and loss, then the author’s recommendation is unwarranted because we could not make a good balance without funding of the city of Grandview. Moreover, we cannot decide whether self-sustaining only depends on the number of concerts and the private contribution.

In addition, by stating that conductor has been able to attract more high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony, the author presents an unstated assumption that such high-profile guest musician will have no difficulty attracting local citizen in Grandview and the symphony can make the profit from it. However, the assumption is potentially problematic because we are not informed of the exact number of attendance figure. Nor do we know there has a great balance between musician fee and the symphony revenue. More specifically. We need to know the cost of inviting these musicians. If it turns out that the cost of inviting musicians outweighs the income from selling tickets, then symphony still need the funding of city of Grandview. So the author’s recommendation is clearly weakened.

Likewise, the author unfairly assumes that private contribution and the income of concert can make more profit. So we also need to consider the balance between cost and income from selling tickets. If it turns out that the result is similar to the abovementioned result, then we should reconsider the validity of author’s recommendation. We also need especially consider the private contribution. While the private contributions have increased a lot, we cannot predict that such investment situation will continue in the future. If the private investment reduced due to the development of the private company, then we even cannot lose the funding of city of Grandview because we have lost some private investment. So, the recommendation in argument will be little more than writer’s wishful thinking.

To summarize, while it is reasonable to claim that the city of Grandview can limit the funding of symphony at first glance, whether or not we should implement the writer’s recommendation depends greatly on the validity of the assumptions mentioned above. If these assumptions prove unwarranted, then the recommendation will be little more than the writer’s wishful thinking.