105) The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author points out that we can improve the worker's safe in Butler Manufacturing if we allow to use shorter work shifts. To support this conclusion, he/she says that there have a another company named Panoply where the work shifts are shortened, and a government study is cited to prove that more and more tired workers will induce these accidents. While this conclusion seems appealing, we still need more information or evidence help us evaluate this recommendation.

First off, we need some information about this so-called government study. Whether this study is accurate enough or not can help us decide to support this recommendation or disprove. It is possibility that this study just ask some places where there are great number of accidents and their workers usually need to do more works for their life. If it is the case, we cannot say this study would be helpful for us because this just some special circumstances and then we cannot support this recommendation. But if some evidence could show the opposite of such statement, then we are more likely to support it.

In addition, even if we concede that this study is correct, we also need some evidence to verify the correlation of shorter work shifts and people will have good rest. According to passage, the author represents workers of Panoply are more safe due to the shorten work shifts. However, we need more information about it. Absence of information cannot rule out the possibility that the worker of Panoply will use their time to do more things such like part-time jobs, then we cannot say these people will have good rest. On the other hand, if the evidence could show that these people usually spend time to sleep or other relax things, we are more likely to consider this suggestion.

Finally, granted that people who have shorten work shift will have good rest, we also cannot say this could help us improve the level of safe in factory. We still need to more evidence to show how will these people's skill. In other words, people who have bad operation skills will induce more accidents even if they are more alert and rested. Also, the environment of factory need to be considered. people who work in the harsh environment are more like to make mistakes and then cause these accidents. If some information can provide this information, then the author’s suggestion would be undermined and we need to think other ways to reduce the accidents. Otherwise, we would take this suggestion and help this factory.

To sum up, Although I know the good intent of author’s suggestion and it looks like quite convincing at first glance, we still need more evidence such as the accuracy of this study, the correlation of shorten work shifts and good rest and if people who have good rest will improve the level of safe. Without these information, we cannot make good decision about this situation.