The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of

Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the

symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an

internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest

musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the

symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert

series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding

an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of

the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions

and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

The memorandum explains why the city of Grandview have supported the local symphony for recenct years and why they should stop funding this symphony. Being small and unknown, the symphony needed financial aid to grow at the beginning, however, when a professional conductor was hired, he could invite famous guest musicians to perform with the symphony which led to more revenue and private contributions. Now the author proposes the elimination of funding program for symphony, because it can live independently. Although the proposal sounds logical, the unstated assumptions upon which it has been formulated can change the situation after stopping funds to symphony.

First, The author of the memorandum assumes that the local symphony will remain the only music producer in the city for feature years, but the fast pace of modern life refutes this view. There is no guarantee that Grandview’s denizens will go to symphony and listen the classical pieces for forceable future, since technological advances have made many things available to people which can substitute the physical experience of symphony. Moreover, the author is unable to predict the interests of modern generations toward music performed in the symphony for the next years that may have a disastrous effect on the independence of symphony.

Second, the inflation is another factor which is not examined by the writer in his proposal. Probably, in the next few years, the symphony owners or the conductor increase the ticket prices to handle the maintenance and operations costs which subsequently decrease the number of audience. If we accept this hypothesis, then the role of Grandview city is still important to backup local symphony to survive. In other words, financial instabilities prevent granview city to completely discard its funding program.

Finally, The memorandum indicates that the presence of famous guest musicians in the Grandview’s symphony is a sign of prosperity in near future. Though indeed it is, those musicians have not promised to come to symphony forever and any untoward incidence may lower their willingness to perform at the symphony for coming years. The author has to provide a detailed mechanism to retain guest muscians interests and make them loyal to Granview; otherwise, the symphony is losing the big revenue and private contributions which itself undermines the theory of stopping funds for the symphony.

In conclusion, the author’s suggestion to put an end to the funding programs of Granview city for its symphony needs to review his idea and examine the unstated assumptions which may have irreparable consequences. The interest of people and new kind of media for next years, inflation and increasing costs and the willingness of guest musicians to join the symphony are the assumptions that should be considered before taking actions.