Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and

development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which

adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain

how these examples shape your position

The issue states that governments have to create few restrictions for conducting scientific research and development which is against the nature of science, because many scientists’ discoveries happened during a time of freedom and prosperity. I think governments should not limit the scientific research and they even have to support it in any direction.

One of the consequences of governmental intervention in scientific research is creating chaos in academic places which is harmful for both researchers and governors. For example, different laws by Iranian governemnts to monitor and formulate humanities with the aim of domestication of theories in Iran have not been helpful so far and just exacerbated the situation. This experience shows that restrictions are useless, for academicians look at theories from a different angle and probably are not willing to assent to the government policies. Moreover, using of force by governments prevent researchers to conduct researches wishfully and the final result will be a diseterous collection of aticles.

On the other hand, when governments enact specific laws to restrict the production of scientific research, the scholars and researchers cannot fully focus on their experiment or methodology, because they are forced to produce something which accords with the policies. Again the unwise actions of Iranian government to declare some research areas as forbidden and set further punishments for the unruly researchers is an illustrative example to clarify the issue. For instance, study about new sects or religions, sexual practices and the structure of governmental administrarion are among the subjects banned by governments which is obviously a restriction on research and development.

In summary, any form of restriction on the process of producing scientific research is deleterious for both governments and academcians, because of the dangerous consequences. A chaotic environment where some researchers cannot agree to the policies and a bias toward those polices which distracts prevents others to focus on experiments or methodologies are the possible results of governmental restrictions.