Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

As far as I know there is a famous adage in Persian culture regards the value of the past and its influences on the current and future decisions. It says the past looks like a torch that illuminates the dangerous path ahead of us. In my opinion, people have to study events of the past, the fate of dynasties and the biographies of prominent figures who lived in the past to make wise decisions. The following paragraphs will mention a few examples from different contexts to emphasize the value of the past to decision making process of today.

The practice of writing a research paper is a good example to emphasize on the values of the past for new scientific study. Academically speaking, every enthusiastic student who likes to conduct a study and write a powerful paper knows the principles of scientific research methodologies such as research sampling, experiments and so on. One Of the required principle by most journals to publish a paper is literature review in which scholars have to find relevant studies to their subject and write them in a shortened form to create a comprehensive view in that subject. They also get some insights and avoid a repetitive study by reviewing other works. This little principle therefore shows that knowing about past is useful to conduct a new study and make consequent decisions.

Furthermore, Another benefit of knowing about the past is detrimental effect which it may have on the governments. In other words, the leaders and decision makers of a society always have to take a look back to identify the reasons behind the rise or fall of powers. For example, during Arab spring If colonel Qaddafi, former leader of Libya, was watchful to what happened to his counterparts in other Arab countries in the region, then there was a chance for him to escape from his tragic destiny. Thus, because making new decisions without prior knowledge could be dangerous for leaders, they have to study the history to find possible experiences and take lessons from them.

Finally, After all we have been given an ability to memorize and remember things which is called memory. Despite of its constraints, the memory is designed to help people remember what they did in the past which also includes their experiences, knowledge, skills and so on. This could not be useless since in many situations we need to remember something from the past to fulfill our today’s tasks. For example, the order of alphabet is among the very primary lessons we took at school and may seem so far from our current projects but how about finding meaning of a word in a dictionary when the Internet is not working. You probably need to know the alphabet order you learned in the past to find your desired word. Therefore, knowing about what we learned in the past will be useful in times of need.

In summary, knowing about the past should not be considered as old-fashioned behavior. On the contrary studying the past and perceiving its values could be helpful in many situations such as writing a scholarly paper for a journal or making new decisions for a society. After all having an ability in our heads which is called memory is another fact that indicates we have to know about the past.